The Weekend: December 11-12, 2020

We’ve come to the end of another week, and if you’ve been following the News you’ll know that Trump’s last shot missed the goal. Of course, that hasn’t stopped him from claiming he was wobbed nor has it caused his faithful to step back and take a moment to reflect. They still believe that he’ll get another term and that there’s no other explanation for his election-day stomping than the entire world, including the Supreme Court justices he appointed, being against him.

It would be funny if they weren’t such a bunch of violent loose cannons willing to let someone else die for their Lord and Master. They keep screaming for civil war, but all they’ll accomplish is some isolated acts of violence. I don’t know how much I’d count on the military one way or another, but I do know that most folks aren’t interested in anything that would disrupt Amazon delivery or cause the internet to go out. Not saying that it isn’t a worrisome time, I’m just saying Joe Biden will be the next president and no amount of temper tantrums will change that.

Okay, then. Let’s get into this week’s Gibberish. Not going to lie, it’s pretty slight. Thursday was truncated because I had some Actual Paying Work to get through, but even then, the mood hasn’t really been in me. Tuesday was basically another news day, going into more of Trump’s legal stompings and the thuggery from Florida’s Gov. Ron DeSantis against Rebekah Jones.

It was similar Saturday, with another look at the potential violence from Trump’s loyalists and the goofballs in the Proud Boys. I did write a little about the loss of Charley Pride and his place in country music. I keep telling myself that someday I’m going to write extensively about country music, Black people, and racism, and one day I’m going to do it. I’m thinking of February for Black History Month, but I never follow through.

For whatever reason, I haven’t been all that inspired lately. At least the last two weeks, it’s been like pulling teeth to come up with anything, much less make it engaging. The APW has been okay and the News is easier to do, but the Gibberish has been a pain. Furthermore, I really haven’t fooled with the fiction lately. Maybe it’s got something to do with the fallout from the bought with the black mood a few weeks back, plus the general need to get out on the road or a headful of the good smoke that’s starting to get tedious.

For example, this has been sitting untouched for the past twenty minutes as I scrolled through Twitter and learned about Omega Psi Phis. How about that? Beyond that, I don’t know. I did start an interesting new game yesterday evening, Judgement: Apocalypse Survival Simulation. Long story short, the Biblical apocalypse happens and you have to manage a community of survivors, keeping them fed and fighting off attacking demons. It’s sort of like Frostpunk if you’ve ever played that.

I read someone’s tweet claiming cyberpunk is sort of null and void since we’re basically living in a technological dystopia. One of the more interesting pieces of fiction I’ve read in the past year was a post-apocalypse after the whole Lovecraftian thing came through. There’s something interesting about the Biblical apocalypse as a background event, something like the Left Behind stuff without all the weird Dominionist fiddle-faddle. Like, someone trying to navigate that and they’re not a Christian. Doesn’t have to be an atheist, either, or from the Abrahamic religions. There’s been plenty of fiction where angels aren’t pro-human, “good” or not, and that would fit in. Something to consider.

Okay, that’s good. That’s word count and about time for supper. Another goofy week awaits.

Leave a comment